We’re with you, at work

years overall, over 100 federated: delivering the very best outcomes for NSW and the ACT's communication workers
proud members stand behind our strength across NSW and the ACT
workplaces are visited personally by our Officials, annually

What is the CEPU?

The CEPU is the Union for postal, telecommunications & broadband, call centre, information technology and pay-tv workers across NSW and the ACT.

A Union is formed when a group of employees in a particular trade or industry come together to defend and advance their pay and working conditions, collectively.

The CEPU advances the interests and defends the rights of its members across our covered industries. We provide members with support, advocacy and representation when negotiating with employers. Union affairs tend to be very time consuming and therefore full-time Union Officials are necessary to do the various jobs that must be done if a Union is to succeed in its aims.

The CEPU is a strong, efficient and progressive union, staffed by dedicated Officials experienced in dealing with management at all levels.

Our long, proud history

The CEPU is a national Union representing workers across the wider communications, electrical and plumbing industries.

The CEPU was formed in 1994 following an amalgamation of the Communication Workers’ Union of Australia (CWU), the Electrical Trades Union (ETU) and the Plumbing and Gasfitters Employees’ Union (PGEU/PTEU).

Your Union, the NSW Postal & Telecommunications Branch of the Communications Division, evolved predominately from the Australian Postal & Telecommunications Union (APTU).

A timeline of our history:

1912 the Australian Letter Carriers’ Association and the Australian Telegraph, Telephone Construction & Maintenance Union (later known as the Australian Postal Linesmen Union of Australia) were both registered federally

1924 the Australian Letter Carriers’ Association changed its name to the Commonwealth Public Service Fourth Division Employees’ Union of Australia only to amalgamate a year later with the Postal Sorters’ Union of Australia and the Australian Postal Linesmen Union of Australia to form the Amalgamated Postal Linesmen Sorters’ & Letter Carriers’ Union of Australia

1926 the newly amalgamated Union becomes known as the Amalgamated Postal Workers’ Union (APWU), covering posties, mail sorters and telecommunications linesmen.

1974 the APWU merges with the Union of Postal Clerks and Telegraphists (UPT) to become the Australian Postal & Telecommunications Union (APTU)

1990 the APTU merged with the Australian Postmasters’ Association and later the Postal Supervisory Officers’ Association to eventually be known as the Communication Workers Union (CWU). The Australian Telecommunications Employee Association/Australian Telephone & Phonogram Officers Association [ATEA/ATPOA] and the Telecommunication Officers Association [TOA] later amalgamated with the CWU. The ATEA retained autonomy in a divisional structure, whilst the TOA merged with APTU originating Branches.

1994 the CWU had merged with the Electrical Electronic Plumbing & Allied Workers Union of Australia, the end product of a merger between the ETU and the PGEU/PTEU, to form the Communications Electrical Electronic Energy Information Postal Plumbing & Allied Services Union of Australia (CEPU)

Our secure, autonomous structure

Today, the CEPU currently represents over 100,000 workers, Australia wide.

Through a Divisional structure, each Branch of the CEPU operates autonomously and maintains a close relationship with its members.

The NSW Postal & Telecommunications Branch is governed by it’s own Executive (The Branch Committee of Management), directly elected by the Union’s members every four years – along with full-time elected officials prescribed in the Union’s Rules.

The Communications Division of the CEPU is administered on a national level through a Divisional Office.

The Divisional Officials and Executive are directly elected by the membership of all branches which belong to the Communications Division on a National level.

On a combined National level, the Communications Division is represented on the Executive of the amalgamated CEPU through proportional representation.

The NSW Postal & Telecommunications Branch is affiliated to the following organisations:

  • The Labor Council of NSW (Unions NSW)
  • The Australian Labor Party (NSW Branch)
  • Union Aid Abroad (APHEDA)

The NSW Postal & Telecommunications Branch is located on Level 3, 81 George Street Parramatta NSW.

The Branch is the owner of the building and currently lets out two floors of office space, and three ground floor retail spaces.

Together, we can deliver a better future